HSQS Compliance

The Human Services Quality Framework (HSQF) demonstrates a commitment to quality and the use of this to drive efficient and effective business operations which result in quality outcomes for clients.

The framework contains the following six Human Services Quality Standards:

 governance and management

 service access

 responding to individual need

 safety, well-being and rights

 feedback, complaints and appeals

 human resources.

The standards have been developed to encapsulate the core components of the existing quality standards currently used in disability services, child safety services, homelessness services, community services and community care services.

The quality standards contained in the HSQF have been developed based on the following principles:

Respecting human rights – services are planned and delivered in a manner that respect and has regard for the individual’s human rights, in keeping with the United Nations Universal Declaration of Human Rights, that states ‘recognition of the inherent dignity and of the equal and inalienable rights of all members of the human family is the foundation of freedom, justice and peace in the world’.

Social Inclusion – services are planned and delivered to promote opportunities for inclusion in the communities that a person using services identifies with.

Participation – people using services are included in decision-making about the service they receive and the organisation delivering the service.

Choice – people using services are provided with the opportunity for choice regarding the service they receive and where and how they receive it, within available resources.